Be Inspired by Rabia Gale

Rabia Gale HeadshotDo you want to know a secret? Shhhhh. Don’t tell. I don’t want to completely ruin my personna as a mom and a writer and a woman over forty. A grown-up.

Except, I didn’t. Grow up, that is. I never lost my intense love of fairytales, my desire to tumble down the rabbit hole, vanish into magic.

Which brings me to my guest today, the author Rabia Gale. Rabia is a word magician in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern. She recreates the magic of childhood wonderlands — for grown-ups.

In wired, Rabia reinvents the story of Rapunzel in a post-apocalyptic world. In Rainbird, there are half-breed eiries and dragon spines and a conspiracy to reinvent the sun. Once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down.

Rabia’s stories are gems with countless facets. She writes fully-textured worlds, rich with knowledge of fairytales and literature, history and science. In her series, back to school for writers, she invited other writers to share their expertise on subjects like computers, Navajo code talkers, and the Celts. In her own fiction, the details are a delight.

She’s also written eloquently about self-publishing, about the genre of science fantasy, and about the slippery timewarp of the Internet. In the post, on not being a prodigy after all, she says, “Life is not a zero-sum game, and there will still be plenty of chocolate cake at the finish line, whenever I get there.” Rabia, I’d like to meet you there for cake and coffee. Until then, I’m honored to have you as a guest in my series on inspiration. Welcome.

On Fairy Tales, Myths, and Legends by Rabia Gale

I thought I’d moved on.

My first (abandoned) novel was a murder mystery retelling ofThe Twelve Dancing Princesses, set in an alternate Europe. My first completed novel was inspired by changeling folklore. My second completed novel grew out of the Cupid and Psyche myth.

And then I got distracted by the shiny fusion of science fiction and fantasy (mechanical universes and magical energy! Prayer magic and mecha! Space dragons and artificial suns!), and the fairy tale-inspired stuff went away.

Or so I thought.

But as I worked on my epic tales of adventure and wonder and Worlds in Terrible Peril, fairy tales came back into my writing.

They came back in shards and shadows, in broken characters and whispered What ifs? They were literary and dark, much darker than anything else I’d ever written. They brought me women burdened by their beauty and mirrors driven mad, curses unbroken, sacrifices made in vain, and never-afters.

The rainbow shimmer and pastel tones of my childhood fairy tales and the zestful, feminist retellings of my girlhood gave way to explorations of a darker world, failed endeavors, and bittersweet endings. My fairy tales are broken: beauty fades, love is imperfect, and those desperate to hold on to their happily-ever-afters are driven to madness. My tales are not without splashes of color, glimmers of hope, and moments of joy—but these are all hard-worn.

Why hang these stories on to a fairy tale framework? Why am I drawn to using these centuries-old stories as a basis for my own?

For one, they come down to us in strong lines and sparse details, begging to be appropriated. There is so much left unsaid, so many whys left unanswered and so many what-ifs left hanging, like roads not taken. Fairy tales are like outlined shapes, waiting to be filled in with patterns and embellished with details. Chameleon-like, they blend into different genres, from romance to literary to science fiction.

Second, what details they contain are simple but striking, pregnant with symbolism, full of magic and mystery. The Queen’s mirror, Cinderella’s glass slipper, the Beast’s rose, the selkie’s skin: these concrete objects can have a hundred origins and a thousand meanings. They burn vividly against the fairy tale landscape, drawing the eye and the imagination.

Third, fairy tales and their ilk are stripped down to the core, laying bare the heart and the bone of humanity. Love, lust, and possession; striving and sacrifice; jealousy and vengeance. Impossible tasks, unlikely helpers, clever riddles. Laughter and light-heartedness. Life in a world of magic, wonder, and curses. All our desires are laid out in fairy tales, myths and legends: to possess beauty, to be loved by a god, to defeat the strong, to outwit the powerful—and the many paths those journeys can take.

So, while I write my fantasies with their complex worldbuilding and wide-ranging storylines, fairy tales and folklore still tug at me, quiet but insistent. And every now and then, I snatch the time to bring to the page the chill of a winter sacrifice, the zing of electricity coursing through a cybernetic woman’s hair, and the salty sting of a sea-witch’s regret.

***

Rabia Gale breaks fairy tales and fuses fantasy and science fiction. She loves to write about flawed heroes who never give up, transformation and redemption, and things from outer space. Rabia grew up in Karachi, Pakistan and now lives in Northern Virginia. Visit her online at http://www.rabiagale.com

Did you read fairy tales as a child? Have you kept them close? What magic have they given you as a writer or a reader? Cozy up and share.

 

10 thoughts on “Be Inspired by Rabia Gale

  1. I loved the magic of fairytales and the warnings of fables as a child and still find myself drawn to them today. As I grew older we gave our books away and now I find myself searching for them again. Great post, thanks for the introduction.

    • I recently found and bought a copy of The Faber Book of Modern Fairy Tales to share with my own children. It was like reconnecting with an old friend. My husband was equally delighted to find a two-volume set of fairy tales published by Reader’s Digest, which he had while growing up.

  2. Those shards and shadows woven into your complex and wide-ranging worlds sound like the makings for a satisfying read, Rabia! Really lovely and intriguing post. Thanks for having her, Lisa! (Have I said I love this series? 😉 )

    • It’s such a delight to have you as a guest. Thank you for the inspiring post!
      I just finished your collection, Shattered: Broken Fairy Tales. Wow!! It was hard to pick a favorite. You work so carefully and so intricately — so creatively — with the Mirror in Snow White, and with Beauty, and with Cinderella. Just amazing.

      • Thanks, Lisa! I think the stories in Shattered are some of the best work I’ve done in the short form. I’m so glad you liked them.

  3. Pingback: homeschool highlights | Rabia Gale

  4. Oh, I loved this! It was like reading poetry and how I always feel falling into the fairy tale. Fairy tales are so potent because they mean something, and what they mean is as rich and faceted as the people who read them, retell them, relive them. I have read stories as a child, then again as an adult and wondered at the mirrors and angles chiseled into the tale. And let’s face it, there’s a fangirl inside me: one that talks back to the stories that talk to me, that feels an itch moving me, sometimes driving me, to take the broken pieces and heal them only to break them again but differently. Only by this process can I feel I’ve reached the depths of what I can learn from them. And isn’t that the whole point of fairy tales? They teach our hearts.

    • I love how you put it: talking back to the story that talks to you. Twisting, retelling, breaking, reimagining fairy tales is all part of a larger conversation people have with the stories that resonate deepest with us.

Comments are closed.